Zwei Gewinner

one Prize.


The best brick buildings. Every three years the Brick Building Initiative awards the Award for Brick Architecture and thus honors special architectural achievements with a particular building material. The new name will be announced in September.

These are the winners of 2020!

The jury didn’t make the decision easy but now it’s official: Seven international projects can look forward to recieve an award in Gold. For the first time even two Grand Prix were awarded!

Winners 2020

The shortlist

With 586 projects submitted almost as many architects participated at the 2020 Fritz Höger Award for Brick Architecture as there were participants at the last award 2017 – despite the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Award for Brick Architecture, which was first awarded in 2008, takes place every three years and is one of the largest German architectural awards. It honors projects that use the potential of a traditional building material in a valid way to create special, remarkable and sustainable architecture.

More information 

The best Brick Buildings


Our newest brick magazine VORTEILE portraits the sensational winner projects of the Award 2020. For the first time two projects were awarded the Grand Prix: Despite very different approaches to brick, both winners impressed the judging panel with their clear design concept.

Get to know our magazine

A big stage for your buildings

The Award for Brick Architecture would not be possible without the work of hundreds of ambitious architects. Every three years outstanding projects surprise the public with undreamt design possibilities of the traditional building material. The architects that meet this challenge benefit from the interest of the professional public and the presence in prestigious publications. The chances and the attention – also for newcomers and non-winners – are enormous. Be a part of it!

All benefits for architects